Go Back   East Harlem Online Discussion Forums > General > General Discussion
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2002, 07:46 PM

Lightbulb Reparations

Jose:

This may be very bad, but I initially decided to log on to the site because I usually feel particularly strong ties to people in the Hispanic community. You made a comment in your message. You asked whether or not your grandchildren would have to pay for reparations. Am I wrong or right ...are you a white American? Or could you could be racially mixed.

I am a student, and I am wondering whether you have had the chance to study, extensively, reparations? What is your perception of Blacks in America? Is it your perception that they are lazy, and always trying to get over on the system or what?

I felt very comfortable when I entered the site, but after reading your email. I felt extremely unwelcome. Not because of the facts that you stated, but because of the rhetorical questions that you used to aid the defense of your beliefs.

I am not being syde, I am just wanting more clarification.
Old 04-16-2002, 10:05 PM

Smile

Dear Kirsten:
I read your reply to the reparations message by Jose and had some thoughts on it. First I want to say a little bit about myself. I am a middle age male American of Puerto Rican descent. I have a Masters Level degree in Social Work. I am a conservative and am Christian (real though flawd).